Society Observed

Archduke Francis, by Johan Zoffany 1775, Oil on canvas, 198 x 145 cm

Darlings, I hope you’ve had an as wonderful day as me. As sad as I am to say bon voyage to Paris, I’ve now returned to London. Wasting no time in getting my art on, I sought out the lovely Johan Zoffany exhibition Society Observed at the Royal Academy of Art. Conclusion: j’adore!

The Gore Family with George, Third Earl Cowper, by Johan Zoffany, c.1775, Oil on canvas, 78.7 x 97.8 cm

It’s an absolute must see and the pictures I took hardly do the paintings justice. To see the meticulously depicted details of the best dressed people in society wearing their finest garments of silks, lace, and embroidery was very inspiring. Reow, the sheer skill behind the vast collections of paintings on display, combined with the motifs and curation of the exhibition made it one of the best that I’ve seen here in London yet. Triumph!

George III and Queen Charlotte with their Six Eldest Children, by Johan Zoffany, 1770, Oil on canvas, 104.9 x 127.6 cm

Is it wrong to wish that I possessed most of Zoffany’s paintings in my own private collection? True, it may seem greedy but I hardly want to compromise. I’m also ready to commission or make my own attempt at a self portrait wearing a powdered wig and fabulous frock. A dream come true. This exhibition really made me miss painting!

4 thoughts on “Society Observed

Leave a Reply

