Photo Shoot at Kew Gardens

As I’ve now finished for the year, I suppose there’s no harm in sharing what I’ve been up to. For our last and final project this semester, we had to choose our own theme and I of course chose home sweet home, Japan.

After doing infinite research into various aspects of Japanese culture both modern and traditional, I decided to produce a garment as my final piece/product. Made from scratch, I drew the pattern myself and made sure to make it in my own size. Sorry, no size zero for anyone if I had it my way! Wearable is key. Then the hunt for fabric began. I visited Berwick Street where I ended up at the lovely fabric shop The Cloth House. There I settled on organic linen in beige, white and black, my favorite colors.

After that I’d say the rest was rather easy. Ironing, cutting, sewing is the short version and there’s no reason to bore you with the details. And of course, I needed a photo shoot to capture the idea/view point of my garment so I wanted to draw a link to my inspiration, motif and Japan.

After a bit of location hunting, I found my match with Kew Gardens. Not only do they have a lovely Japanese pagoda but also a bamboo garden, minka house, and landscapes. Reow, so much easier than a long flight to Tokyo. A deadline is a deadline! So I packed up my camera, a little snack, my garment and headed to the tube. Lucky me, I had the loveliest weather. But truth, people were getting rather curious when I pulled out the skirt from my handbag, and started clicking away with my camera.

Never mind the audience, as it only added a bit more excitement and energy to the day. The security guards seemed to have no problem with what I was doing and that was all that mattered. No time to get shut down by the popo!

So what do you think? Suiting? Pictures of my final exhibition to come…

4 thoughts on “Photo Shoot at Kew Gardens

Leave a Reply

