Blackadder

Picture 1Now I realize that I may be little late to the party (just a couple of decades) in my new found interest towards the British BBC television series Blackadder with Rowan Atkinson but I simply couldn’t contain my excitement in sharing this absolute gem of a show. It reminds me of the 1999 tv-series Let Them Eat Cake! which was set in the Palace of Versailles in 1782 with the hilarious duo Jennifer Saunders playing a comtesse and Dawn French acting as her faithful maid at court.

Picture 3The character Blackadder, played by funnyman Rowan Atkinson serves as personal butler to actor Hugh Laurie playing the part of a foppish numskull Prince George during the 19th century regency era and the third installment of the series which I have just completed a mini marathon of. The show is full of dark humor, slightly ridiculous plots, quite fabulous costumes and simple, effective mise en scène. I’d love to be Hugh Laurie’s character in this still reclining on the day bed, preferably as well dressed and with the addition of some macaroons and bubbly on a silver tray next to me!

Picture 2If you’ve yet to see it, I’d strongly suggest that you take a moment and give it a try. It may be from the late 80s but that doesn’t diminish the fact that it’s still absolutely hilarious! Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Blackadder

  1. Thanks for the tip, maybe you should have put in a bid for the decor? Would have made a great addition to your dorm room, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

