Diary of a Somebody- Day 1

Today my day begins earlier than I would like (8:00 am) but I have a very exciting day ahead, which is the only reason I manage to drag myself out of bed. The weather is bleak and it’s just a matter of time before it starts to rain. Over breakfast I catch up on any emails that have arrived over night, make a few adjustments to my calendar to accommodate for a last minute meeting before final project presentations on Friday and get my daily dose of celebrity gossip through usmagazine.com. I then hop onto the tube and head over to Bond Street where I have been invited  to a guided tour of Sotheby’s auction house. Currently, they are in the process of setting up their latest exhibition and preparing for their upcoming Important Russian Art auction which will be exhibited on:

  • Fri, 31 May 13 | 9:00 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Sun, 02 Jun 13 | 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon, 03 Jun 13 | 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

before the actual auction takes place on June 3rd, at 6:00 pm. It’s an exciting opportunity to get a glimpse behind the scenes as long rows of art sit on the floor awaiting to be hung by technicians. I got more than I bargained for as some quite cheeky, scandalous anecdotes were revealed as were stories about the history of the house.

Since I’m in the neighborhood of Mayfair, I figure why not visit a few galleries while I’m at it. So, my journey begins by stopping by the 147 Richard Green Gallery where I manage to spot a portrait that I instantly recognize as a large Johan Zoffany painting. What a thrill! The last time I was up close and personal with a Zoffany was last year during the (link-) Royal Academy Society Observed exhibition. Afterwards, I head on over to the Bvlgari boutique on New Bond Street, which is currently (until June 29th) showing their stunning Masterpieces exhibition. After catching it on display in their (link-) Ginza boutique in Tokyo during winter break, I figured I had to see this one in order to compare. The London exhibition proved much smaller and more intimate, featuring a range of glittering archived jewelry that I had yet to befriend.

By 2:00 pm, I’m at King’s Cross being given an introduction to the art market. So far it’s proven to be absolutely fascinating and at 3:00 pm there’s a guest in attendance, fine art consultant Matthew Hockley Smith who gives an invigorating talk on his experience in the art world. After, I feel just about ready to take on the world! I receive an email message filling me in that sales from Tokyo are up and my jewelry line is doing well.

I’m not sure if it was the rain or a looming cold but afterwards I decided to head directly home in order to spend my evening indoors relaxing in hopes of avoiding the bug from hell. My go to cure: delicious hot Marie Antoinette Ladurée tea, lots of fruit, Chopin music tinkering in the background with the scent of my new Cire Trudon La Marquise candle flickering in the distance, a long hot shower and then plenty of sleep.

6 thoughts on “Diary of a Somebody- Day 1

Leave a Reply

