Tips from a Frequent Flier

SAS Scandinavian Airlines

I figured I might share some wisdom that I’ve picked up over the years and many, many, many hours that I continue to spend on long haul flights. With airplanes and hotels being like a second home to me it’s become important to know what and how to pack fast.

In my carry-on you can expect to find… My trusty Nikon camera, Apple laptop, and what feels like infinite cables and chargers for my many technical devices. Also, my latest read be it book or magazine, sunglasses, toothbrush, toothpaste. Maybe even a cashmere shawl and some comfy yoga pants to change into once airborne. Muji’s travel shop sells these amazingly practical travel cases and carriers that I rely entirely on to organize my luggage into neat sections that won’t shift as much upon handling, I can highly recommend them to any fellow neat freak travelers out there.

DSCN8031How do you choose your flight outfit? Based on comfort and style. I often bump into people I know when I fly so hanging out in sweats and flip-flops just isn’t an option. It would also look a little out of place when traveling in a cabin full of businessmen in suits.

What beauty products do you pack? I love having a L’occitane hand cream (100ml) tucked away in my purse for when it becomes unbearably dry up in the air and forgetting a thick lip balm would probably be my worst nightmare. I also pack a mini face cream, floss, toothbrush, toothpaste, and an Yves Saint Laurent Touche Éclat stick.

Sky View

Pre-flight ritual… A cup of warm green tea, a hearty spoon of raw organic honey *consumed separately though.

Fit for flight means… That ideally you’re well rested beforehand, lusciously moisturized, properly fed with something healthy and looking forward to the journey or at least the destination.

Scandinavian Airlines System

Post-flight ritual… A tall glass of mixed fruit smoothie followed by a long steamy hot shower scrubbing off germs and jet lag, while hydrating a dry nose and throat. After, full body moisturizing and chowing down on something healthy. Then, sleep, sleep, sleep!

3 thoughts on “Tips from a Frequent Flier

  1. I always wear flight socks to help prevent DVT, so flip flops are out. I don’t sleep when I get off a plane unless it is late at night. I try to adopt the time of the place I land and go to bed as late as possible so I quickly get into the rhythm of my new time zone. I never get jet lag. Do you travel business class?

    • Lucky you, no matter how well I behave I always get a feel of jet lag when going back to Asia, never or rarely the other way around. I prefer business class for long haul as I can work (less cramped) and also feel more rested upon arrival.

Leave a Reply

