Waddesdon Manor

DSCN8669Greetings from the gorgeous and grandiose Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire, England! The stunning French chateau inspired mansion once owned in entirety by the Rothschild family could easily be described as a dream home and I for one wouldn’t mind moving in immediately. Granted, it’s no Versailles but in England I believe this is as close as one can possibly get.

Waddesdon Manor Interiors

Waddesdon Manor InteriorsI’ll be asking my darling grandmother for a refresher course in proper napkin folding so that one day perhaps my own dining table will look as triumphant as this. Luckily, I already have some of the tools necessary with a set of white table cloth napkins with my monogram. My dream of a palace is quickly becoming a reality.

DSCN8691The entire house was filled with lush and extravagant interiors, beautifully complimented with an infinite number of chandeliers in varying styles and sizes.

DSCN8717

DSCN8774

DSCN8742Although discretely tucked into the corner of one of the rooms, I have to admit to falling deeply in love with this adorable faint gold chair.

DSCN8789In the masculine bachelor’s wing there was an armoury corridor used to display an impressive collection of defensive treasures followed by a smoking room and a billiards room.

DSCN8815Even the view from the back garden proves that this is a gorgeous property. It also sits on top of a hill and has a terrific vantage point. Ah, what extreme envy I feel!

DSCN8819

DSCN8827A beautiful cast iron aviary is located on the pleasure grounds in order to house a collection of exotic birds.

8 thoughts on “Waddesdon Manor

  1. And how did you manage to get there? In the Ferrari?
    Beautiful pictures as always. You should compile a picture book of your fabulous life!

    • No, I wouldn´t put my money on Sweden. (Although I´m not an expert when it comes to Sweden or Swedish anything…) I know there was the occasional rattan chair by the mid 19th century and some fifty years onward but those chairs did not have the same design. It kind of reminds me of a Louis XV style carved dining chair in solid walnut but the shape is still slightly off, and I also miss the Rococo foliate motif. This mystery might justify another trip.

Leave a Reply

